top of page

Village of Limestone

The Village of Limestone was incorporated in November of 2006 by an overwhelming majority vote. The village is located in Kankakee County, Illinois with a current population of about 1,600 community members and growing. 

Limestone encompasses approximately 2 1/2 square miles. Our footprint jogs around, but for good reason. When a new village is established, the state statute allows only two square miles to be incorporated. The committee worked diligently to achieve a dense population as well as business properties in order for the Village to be eligible for tax revenue and boundaries. This allows for the Village of Limestone to grow. 

In 2008, Vivian & Bartle Azzarelli generously donated the village's permanent home located at 5404 W. State Road 17, Limestone, Illinois. The building was renovated and houses the office as well as a village meeting area. A Village sign courtesy of Bob & Ginny Tanner of Tanner Signs & Designs  was erected. A LED message board and sign now provides the community with local information. The flag flying proudly with the memorial brick path leading to it, was also a great addition to the property. The future is bright for the Village and its residents. 


The Village Officials from the Mayor on down , volunteer their services to our community and have kept their promise to not impose a municipal tax. Even with limited funds, the Village has seen many wonderful accomplishments.

In 2010, a new water tower was constructed, bringing city water to

 the village.

The Village purchased the property next door in 2014 with plans for future growth. In 2020, a rock salt shed was erected and a new Public Service maintenance and storage building will be constructed in 2022.

A convenience store opened along Rt 17 in 2021, and we hope this will pave the way for other businesses to join our community. 

vol sign.jpg


Leading the Community

The village of.png

James "Mike" Duffy



Frances Powers

Trustee & Chairman of the Finance Committee

The village of.png

Jeremy Mitchell



Gailen Olson



Dan Hall

Trustee & Chairman of the Public Service Committee

The village of.png
The village of.png


  John Surprenant


The village of.png

Gretchen Lamie


The village of.png

Coleen McCabe

Village Clerk

The village of.png

Jamie Boyd


bottom of page